Not Confused Anymore – the Relationships of Body, Mind and Soul

We all know we have brain, mind and thoughts;  we also know we have heart, we have 7 emotions 6 desires, and we believe we have souls. However a lot of questions have been confused us human beings during our life time such as:
Do we still exist after our body dies ?  Is there heaven or hell ? where is our soul located? why do we have endless thoughts and why some people tend to have positive thoughts, and some negative?  etc. etc…

I was also not absolutely clear about the relationships between body, mind and soul. But I’m so blessed. A few hours after I finished writing the post: True Communication – the union of the souls, my mind was still pondering on some of the words written about the Spirit and souls, I was not aware  how those words came out on the screen through my hands, then suddenly so clear I seemed understand those intrigue relationships, now I put them in the illustration and explain below:


We all know Heart and Brain are the two important organs for a living being to sustain its life. If one of them is dead we consider the body dies (legally).  Our body is the material form of the Spirit Being, pure energy that vibrates in the form of thoughts from the mind (brain) and emotions from the soul (heart). In other words, our body is the hardware and our mind and soul are the softwares that created from the Source Energy, God.

The illustration above tries to convey this message:

We are spiritual beings living in the material world. Our mind is part of the Universal Mind dwelling in our brain; and our soul is part of the  Super Soul, God living in our heart.  In several verses of Bhagavad Gita states:

 “I am the creation and the annihilation, the basis of everything, the resting place and the eternal seed”  – 9.17

“I am the source of all spiritual and material worlds. Everything emanates from Me” 10.18

 “I am the Super Soul, O Arjuna, seated in the hearts of all living entities. I am the beginning, the middle and the end of all beings” – 10.20

Only the flesh body has its beginning, its middle and its end; the soul, and the spirit will reincarnate in another body, this is the life circle.  And all living beings have souls or spirits, including animals, plants. Human beings and all other living beings are just different forms of life, there is no superior or inferior status. Even the lowest life form in worldly eyes – unicellular organisms. Just think about: Can we human beings survive a few meters under the water without any aids, let alone at 3000 meters deep bottom of the ocean without oxygen?


In Spirit (world) there is no good or bad, beautiful or ugly, hot or cold, black or white, basically no judgement, it’s a nondual world; when we experience emotions and desires, we’re focusing our attention/awareness in the physical world, and because the physical world is a dual world, governed by the Law of Relativity under the Law of Evolution (refer post: The Two Fundamental Laws of Nature), human beings are always obsessed with opinions, always try to distinguish between two things such as: positive vs negative, good vs bad, high vs low etc…  We can’t escape from this tendency, however we can practice to master our mind through all kinds of paths, but meditation and prayers are the 2 most powerful tools for us to connect to The source.


Knowing these we can learn to start to be aware of our own behaviors and try not to judge, and treat other people, other living beings on earth equally.   Want to know more? follow me for future posts. Support me here


Note: In Buddhism, the seven emotions – happiness, anger, sorrow, joy, love, hate, and desire. Together with the six sensory pleasures, derived from the eyes, ears, nose, tongue, body, and mind. These are called 七情六慾


Love and Peace


Posted by Helen Zhu

Post a Comment

Translate »